Hide
The Blue Compass Network
Please select which of the site you wish to access from the Blue Compass Network.
Please select which of the site you wish to access from the Blue Compass Network.
| Topic: Ip numbers | ||
|---|---|---|
| Can anyone tell me how to identify someone who is viewing me (at very odd times during the night) by their IP number that now appears underneath the viewing. The same number keeps coming up time and time again and I am curious..... I have tried the copy and paste trick but just get a load of strange codes. I feel like I am being stalked!!! | ||
| [add comments | all topics] |
| Reply #1 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 31/08/10 | |
| Hehe me too! I wouldn't worry it could just be a search engine or some auto process? | |
| Reply #2 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 31/08/10 | |
| I may be horribly wrong, I often am, but I think some IP addresses may be a sort of a 'hub' like a telephone exchange for several users especially in Europe. There are websites where you can get a tiny bit more information on IP addresses. Select the address, right click on it and click on search Google for....and it should give you some options. (This may only work on Firefox). | |
| Reply #3 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 31/08/10 | |
| Yes from what Im told the recurring ip address is from some sort of central server from google. Someone said its based in San Francisco, hence the strange hours! | |
| Reply #4 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 31/08/10 | |
| IP addresses will appear at varying times GMT due to worldwide time differences. Usually, you will only be able to establish a vague area of origin but, sometimes, that MIGHT help you identify a prospective employer that you have contacted, especially if you have your own website and web stats programme and the IP address appears shortly after you've emailed them. Quite useful, SOMETIMES! There are plenty of online IP address translators, which will reveal an area of origin eg "City of London", "Pembrokeshire", "LA" | |
| Reply #5 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 31/08/10 | |
| Yhanks for the info. I can sleep easier now!! | |
| Reply #6 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 01/09/10 | |
| If you just type IP ADDRESS into GOOGLE and paste the number a WHOIS website (amongst others) comes up and quite often you can check the area. I was getting freaked for a while from having lots of weird timed views from Sunnyvale CA but it turns out that's where YAHOO is. What's freaking me out slightly is there are a couple of IPS from google.es (ie Spain) coming up and it's my name plus credits and directors I've worked with... :S This happens pretty much every day! It's a tad unsettling. I'm hoping it's just a friend I have who lives there... a bit odd! EEK! :D Anyway I will stop wittering and hope I've helped decode this for you! XX | |
| Reply #7 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 01/09/10 | |
| Well that was not very interesting and nothing to do with my talent.......turns out it is a website in california as you also identified called healthieryou.ws. But I can stop being spooked by it now and it does explain the odd times!! Thanks for the info. | |
| Reply #8 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 01/09/10 | |
| It's a pleasure Amanda! Glad it's cleared up your queries :) XX | |
| Reply #9 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 01/09/10 | |
| OH, Thankyou, i thought i was being stalked by someone on California, 3-4 times day and night! NO more sleepless nights, just the stalker bank statements to worry about... | |
| Reply #10 | |
|---|---|
| Posted : 01/09/10 | |
| If it's any consolation, I'm regularly 'crawled' by sites in Russia and China - decidely less glamourous than the West Coast I have to say! | |
| [add comments | all topics] |
Please note: Messages written in the forum do not represent the views of Casting Call Pro, nor have they been vetted by Casting Call Pro staff. If you read something which you believe to be offensive or defamatory, please contact us and we will take the appropriate action.